Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

The IAAF World U20 Championships Bydgoszcz 2016

IAAF World U20 Championships 2016

Bydgoszcz, July 19th - 24th

IAAF World U20 Championships Bydgoszcz Getty Images


Athletics Ireland release

21 athletes will don the Irish vest at the World U20 Championships in Bydgoszcz, Poland at the Zawisza Stadium on July 19-24.

The young Irish stars will pit their wits to gain experience against the best U20 athletes in the world which has seen the likes of Usain Bolt and Allison Felix pass through the championships on their way to world stardom.

The team will be headed by Michaela Walsh (Swinford), Sharlene Mawdsley (Newport) and Elizabeth Morland (Cushinstown).

Michaela Walsh has continued her rise in the throws and set a new national junior shot put record of 15.15m. Walsh is no stranger to this level of competition and finished 9th in the World Youth Championships last year.

Multi-event star Elizabeth Morland set the national junior, U23 and senior heptathlon record and finished 10th at the World Youth Championships last year.

Sharlene Mawdsley has been reaching new heights this season winning the schools 100m and 200m. Mawdsley finished fourth in the European Junior Athletics Championships last summer.

Eurosport will be televising the championships and the hashtags on Twitter are:  



Full Championships Timetable

Irish timetable

Tuesday July 19

Carla Sweeney (WSAF) 800m heat 10:10

Louise Shanahan (Leevale) 800m heat 10:10

Louise Shanahan Athletics Ireland small

Jenna Bromell (Emerald) 400m July 19 heat 18:10

Mollie O'Reilly (DSD) 400m heat 18:10

Wednesday July 20

Michaela Walsh (Swinford) Wednesday July 20 Shot put heats/final - 8:40/17:35

Adam King (Iveragh) Hammer Group A/B  11:50/13:10

Owen Russell (St. Andrew's) Hammer Group A/B  11:50/13:10

Thursday July 21

Sharlene Mawdsley (Newport) 200m heats/semi 12:00/20:00

Elizabeth Morland (Cushinstown) Heptathlon

Friday July 22

Elizabeth Morland (Cushinstown) Heptathlon

Women’s 4x100m relay: heats 17:00

Sharlene Mawdsley (Newport), Ciara Neville (Emerald), Gina Akpe-Moses (Blackrock & Birchfield) Molly Scott (St. L O'Toole), Janine Boyle (Finn Valley), Lauren Ryan (Dooneen)

Men’s 4x100m relay: heats 17:30

Eoin Doherty (Tallaght), Joseph Ojewumi (Tallaght), Sean Lawlor (Donore Harriers) Cillin Greene (Galway City Harriers) David McDonald (Menapians)

Saturday July 23

Pierre Murchan (Celtic DCH) 5000m final 17:45

Jack O'Leary (Mullingar Harriers) 5000m final 17:45

4x100 Metres Men’s Relay Final 18:35                                                  

4x100 Metres Women’s Relay Final 18:50

Team manager: Michael McDonald


IAAF World U20 Championship Schedule

Day 1 - Tuesday July 19th

Day 2 - Wednesday July 20th

Day 3 - Thursday July 21st

Day 4 - Friday July 22nd

Day 5 - Saturday July 23rd

Day 6 - Sunday July 24th


IAAF Online Coverage

Live results

Live blog (active during competition sessions)

Twitter updates

IAAF Radio

IAAF app: App Store, Google Play, Amazon appstore
If you already have the app, be sure to download the latest update to benefit from all the features.

Social media

Twitter: @iaaforg

Facebook: IAAF World Athletics Club

Instagram: iaaf_athletics

Snapchat: iaaf_athletics

About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2019. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design