Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Five Cork Athletes on SIAB Schools International Track and Field Team

Five Cork athletes will represent Ireland at tomorrow's Schools International in Kent, England:

Laura Nicholson, Bandon Grammar School, Emma Coffey, St. Angelas College, Cork, Katherine Moynihan, Davis College Mallow, Darragh McElhinney, Colaiste Pobail Bheanntrai and Brian Lynch, Col. an Spioraid Naoimh Cork

Athletics Ireland SIAB Team 2016


Athletics Ireland Release

Irish Schools Team set for SIAB International

66 schools' athletes will represent Ireland at the SIAB Schools Track and Field International in the Julie Rose Stadium in Ashford, England tomorrow (July 16).

The girls' team will be captained by Sophie Meredith (SMI Newcastle West) who competes in the Long Jump while other star names include Patience Jumbo Gula (St. Vincent's S.S Dundalk) in the 100m, 200m and 4 x 100m Relay Squad, Amy-Rose Farrell (Mount Anville Dublin) in the 3,000m and Ellen McCartney (Belfast High School) in the Pole Vault.

The boys' team will be captained by Irish schools' 400m champion Tony Odubote (Rice College C.B.S.) who competes in the one lap event and the 4 X 400m Relay. Other fledglings looking to star include David Murphy (CBS Kilkenny) in the 100m, 200m and 4 x 100m Relay, Darragh McElhinney (Colaiste Pobail Bheanntrai) in the 1500m and Joseph McEvoy (St. Annes C.C. Killaloe) in the High Jump.    

Many of the athletes copper fastened their places at the GloHealth Tailteann Games which took place on the first day of the National Senior Track and Field Championships on June 25. You can see the full results of the SIAB meet here, once available      

Meet Schedule

Irish Team

Event                                                        Name                                       School Name

100m, 200m and 4 x 100m Relay Squad   Patience Jumbo Gula     St. Vincents S.S Dundalk

100m, 200m and 4 x 100m Relay Squad   Lauren Roy         Slemish College, Ballymena

300m and 4 x 300m Relay Squad                Lauren Cadden Ursuline College Sligo

300m and 4 x 100m Relay Squad                Chloe Hayden    Gaelcholaiste Carlow

800m and 4 x 300m Relay Squad                Davicia Patterson             Hunterhouse College, Belfast

800m and 4 x 300m Relay Squad                Alexandra O'Neill             Rice College, Ennis

1500m   Claire Rafter       Ursuline Thurles

1500m   Amelia Kane       Strathearn School, Belfast

3000m   Amy Rose Farrell              Mount Anville Dublin

3000m   Abigail Taylor     St. Gerards Bray

80mH, 300mH 4 X 300M Relay Squad       Miriam Daly        Scoil Mhuire Carrick on Suir

80m H   Lydia Doyle         Holy Rosary Col, Mountbellow

300m H Niamh Gowing  Mount Anville Dublin

1500m SC             Laura Nicholson                Bandon Grammar School

1500m SC             Aoife O'Brien     Sacred Heart School Westport

4 x 100m Relay Squad     Anna McCauley                Methodist College, Belfast

3k Walk                Sarah Glennon  St. Finians College

3k Walk                Anna Burke        St. Wolstans C.S.

High Jump           Shannon Craig   Royal and Prior Raphoe

High Jump           Deana Kealy       Borris Vocational School

Pole Vault           Ellen McCartney               Belfast High School

Pole Vault           Emma Coffey     St. Angelas College, Cork

Long Jump and Captain                 Sophie Meredith              SMI Newcastle West

Long Jump          Ruby Millet         Kilkenny College

Triple Jump         Jana Joha             Colaiste Iosagain, Portarlington

Triple Jump         Iona Macpherson            Belfast High School

Shot Putt             Ciara Sheehy      St. Marys Charleville

Discus   Zoe Mohan         Sacred Heart Drogheda

Discus & Shot     Marguerite Furlong         St. Marys New Ross

Javelin  Katherine Moynihan      Davis College Mallow

Javelin  Nikie O'Neill       Holy Family Newbridge

Hammer              Jade Williams     Bailieborough C.S

Hammer              Jade O'Farrell Bond         Borrisokane Community College


Event    Name     School Name

100m, 200m and 4 x 100m Relay Squad   David Murphy   CBS Kilkenny

100m, 200m and 4 x 100m Relay Squad   Jack Dempsey   Holy Rosary Col, Mountbellow

400m, 4 X 400m Relay Squad and Captain              Anthony Odubote           Rice College C.B.S.

400m and 4 X 400m Relay Squad                Adam Neilly        Ballymena Academy

800m and 4 x 400m Relay Squad                Niall Harvey        Presentation College Carlow

800m     Shane Ferris       Salesian College

1500m   Darragh McElhinney       Colaiste Pobail Bheanntrai

1500m   Adam Philips      St. Nathy's Ballaghaderreen

3000m   Cian Kelly             Knockbeg College

3000m   Sean O'Leary      St. Aidans C.B.S

100m H Shane Monagle                Ard Scoil Na Mara

400mh and 4 X 400m Relay Squad             Anthony O'Connor          Naas C.B.S

400mh and 4 X 400m Relay Squad             Thomas Mullen                 Holy Cross College Strabane

1500m SC             Ruarcan O'Gibne              Colaiste Lu, Dundalk

1500m SC             Conor Devane   St. Flannan's Ennis

4x100m Relay Squad       Reality Oshua    Gormanston College

4x100m Relay Squad       Joseph Finnegan Murphy             St. Mac Dara's Dublin

3k Walk                               Andrew Carroll   Salesian College

3k Walk                Oisin Lane           Mercy Ballymahon

High Jump           Jeremiah Keary St. Raphael's Loughrea

High Jump           Joseph McEvoy                 St. Annes C.C. Killaloe

Pole Vault           Shane Martin     Belfast Royal Academy

Pole Vault           Deane Geraghy Nolan   Scoil Chonglais Baltinglass

Long Jump          Joseph Miniter  CBS Ennistymon

Long Jump          Brian Lynch         Col. an Spioraid Naoimh Cork

Triple Jump         Brendan Lynch St. Brigids College, Loughrea

Triple Jump and 100mH Joshua Armstrong           Friends School, Lisburn

Shot Put               James Kelly         Royal and Prior Raphoe

Discus & Shot     Padraig Hore      C.B.S. New Ross

Javelin  Liam Connaughton          St. Marys Drogheda

Javelin  Matthew Corbett            Dromore High School

Hammer & Discus            Sean Mockler    Thurles C.B.S.

Hammer              Conor Breslin     Deele College, Raphoe

About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2019. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design