Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Irish Life Health National Athletics Awards 2017

Rob Heffernan Crowned Athlete of the Year at Irish Life Health National Athletics Awards

Crowne Plaza Hotel, Santry, Dublin

Wednesday December 6th 2017


Rob Heffernan Medal Presentation min


Robert Heffernan (Togher) was named as the Athlete of the Year at the Irish Life Health National Athletics Awards which in the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Santry today (December 6).

Heffernan (Togher) received the top honour as a result of his 8th place finish in the 50km Race Walk at the World Athletics Championships, in London, last July - his performance there also saw him collect the Endurance Athlete of the Year award.

Rob received three awards in all; Athlete of the year, Endurance Athlete of the Year and as a member of Team of the Year: Irish men's European Race Walking Team, with Cian McMenamon (Westport) and Alex Wright (Leevale)

The Corkman held off Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers) who won the Track and Field Athlete of the Year award.

Ray Flynn was inducted into the Hall of Fame for 2017. Flynn ran an impressive 89 sub 4 minute miles throughout his career, and he is the current Irish record holder for both the 1500m & mile. Flynn enjoyed a brilliant athletics career, which included representing Ireland at two Olympic Games – 1980 & 1984. He was a finalist in the 5000m at the 1984 Olympics in LA. Flynn was also part of the quartet that set the 4 x 1 mile world record in Dublin, in 1985, alongside previous Hall of Fame recipients Marcus O’Sullivan, Eamonn Coughlan & Frank O’Mara.

While the National Athletics Awards is a celebration of the many successes of our international and national athletes it also commemorates the association’s exceptional volunteer base. Al Guy was named as the Lifetime Achievement Award recipient – the pinnacle volunteer award while Pat Kelly of St Abban's AC won the Outstanding Official of the Year.


Track & Field: Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers)


Inspirational Performance: Cliodhna Manning (Kilkenny City Harriers)

Hall of Fame: Ray Flynn


Lifetime service to Athletics: Al Guy


Outstanding Official Award: Pat Kelly (St Abban's)


U20 Athlete: Gina Akpe-Moses (Blackrock - Louth)


U23 Athlete: Siofra Cleirigh Buttner (DSD)


Endurance: Robert Heffernan (Togher)

Rob Heffernan IAAF Photo


Performance Club: Clonliffe Harriers


Development Club: Nenagh Olympic AC


Team of the Year: Irish men's European Race Walking Team

irish bronze medal team podebrady 2017 b

 Cian McMenamon, Alex Wright & Rob Heffernan


Service to Coaching: Hayley and Drew Harrison


Special Recognition Award: Deirdre Ryan and Paul Hession


Mountain Runner: Des Kennedy (Raheny Shamrock)


Master Athlete: Mark O'Shea (Drogheda and District)


Ultra Athlete: Eoin Keith (Sportsworld)


University Athlete: Phil Healy (Bandon/UCC)

Phil Healy

Phil Healy's Viral Video


About Us

Cork Athletics is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2016. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design