Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Seven Cork Athletes Selected for European Championships - Munich 2022

Seven Cork Athletes Selected for Ireland for European T&F Championships

Munich, Germany

August 15th - 21st 2022


european championships 2022 logo


Seven Cork athletes, six from Cork Clubs have been selected for the Irish team at the European T&F Championships in Munich, later this month

The six Cork based athletes include four from Leevale AC; Louise Shanahan, Michelle Finn, Alex Wright and Colin Doyle. They are joined by Phil Healy, Bandon AC, and Aoife Cooke, Eagle AC, who was pre-selected, along with the rest of the Irish Marathon squad. The seventh Cork athlete is Glengarriff man Darragh McElhinney, currently with UCD AC

European Championship Website


louise shanahan bromley twilight invitational august 2020 michelle finn
Louise Shanahan, Leevale AC Michelle Finn, Leevale AC
Phil Healy Southern Star aoife cooke cork
Phil Healy, Bandon AC Aoife Cooke, Eagle AC
alex wright leevale ac darragh mcelhinney irish examiner january 2018
Alex Wright, Leevale AC Darragh McElhinney, Glengarriff and UCD AC
colin doyle leevale ac photo tomas greally sportsfile 1479388  
Colin Doyle, Leevale AC  


*Fionnuala McCormack Marathon Kilcoole AC Alan McCormack
Rhasidat Adeleke 400m & 4x400m Relay Tallaght AC Edrick Floreal
Thomas Barr 400mH Ferrybank AC Hayley Harrison
David Kenny 20km Walk Farranfore Maine Valley Robert Heffernan
Louise Shanahan 800m Leevale AC Phil O'Dell & Ray Shanahan
Sarah Healy 1500m UCD AC Eoghan Marnell
Kate O'Connor Heptathlon Dundalk St. Gerards AC Michael O'Connor
Chris O'Donnell 400m North Sligo AC Benke Blomkvist
Sarah Lavin 100mH Emerald AC Noelle Morrissey
Mark English 800m Finn Valley AC Feidhlim Kelly
Luke McCann 1500m UCD AC Clark McCann
Hiko Haso 10,000m DSD AC Feidhlim Kelly
*Brendan Boyce 35km Walk Finn Valley AC Robert Heffernan
Brian Fay 5000m Raheny Shamrock AC Feidhlim Kelly
Darragh McElhinney 5000m UCD AC Emmett Dunleavy
Andrew Coscoran 1500m Star of the Sea AC Feidhlim Kelly
Eilish Flanagan 3000mSC Finn Valley AC Damon Martin
Michelle Finn 3000mSC Leevale AC Feidhlim Kelly
Efrem Gidey 10,000m Clonliffe Harriers AC Peter McDermott
*Aoife Cooke Marathon Eagle AC Alan Storey
Phil Healy 400m & 4x400m Relay Bandon AC Shane McCormack
Ciara Mageean 800m & 1500m City of Lisburn AC Helen Clitheroe
John Fitzsimons 800m Kildare AC Joe Ryan
*Ann Marie McGlynn Marathon Letterkenny AC Emmett Dunleavy
*Hugh Armstrong Marathon Ballina AC Feidhlim Kelly
Sophie Becker 400m & 4x400m Relay Raheny Shamrock AC Jeremy Lyons & Gerard O'Donnell
Marcus Lawler 200m & 4x100m Relay Clonliffe Harriers AC Shane McCormack
Alex Wright 35km Walk Leevale AC Lauren Wright
Israel Olatunde 100m & 4x100m Relay UCD AC Daniel Kilgallon
Roisin Flanagan 5000m Finn Valley AC Damon Martin
Eric Favors Shot Put Raheny Shamrock AC Dane Miller
Sharlene Mawdsley 4x400m Relay Newport AC Gary Ryan
Cliodhna Manning 4x400m Relay Kilkenny City Harriers AC Peter Lyons
Roisin Harrison 4x400m Relay Emerald AC Eoghan MacNamara
Joseph Ojewumi 4x100m Relay Tallaght AC Daniel Kilgallon
Mark Smyth 4x100m Relay Raheny Shamrock AC Kay Bannon
Colin Doyle 4x100m Relay Leevale AC Alan Mahoney
Leon Reid 4x100m Relay Menapians AC James Hillier
Paul Costelloe Non-travelling reserve - 4x100m Relay Emerald AC Liam O'Hora
Kelly McGrory Non-travelling reserve - 4x400m Relay Tir Chonall AC Drew & Hayley Harrison

Athletics Ireland Release


Athletics Ireland are delighted to announce a squad of over 35 athletes for the upcoming European Athletics Championships in Munich on August 15-21

Previous European championship medal winners Thomas Barr (Ferrybank AC), Ciara Mageean (City of Lisburn AC), and Mark English (Finn Valley AC) will spearhead the Irish contingent alongside world indoor finalist Sarah Lavin (Emerald AC)

The Irish relay teams have enjoyed tremendous success in global competition over the past 12 months and the women’s 4x400m team looks particularly strong with Rhasidat Adeleke (Tallaght AC), Phil Healy (Bandon AC), Sophie Becker (Raheny Shamrock), Sharlene Mawdsley (Newport AC), Cliodhna Manning (Kilkenny City Harriers), and Roisin Harrison (Emerald AC) all confirmed to travel to Munich

Four-time Olympian Fionnuala McCormack (Kilcoole AC) heads up a strong women’s marathon team (all previously selected) which also includes Aoife Cooke (Eagle AC) and Ann Marie McGlynn (Letterkenny AC)

McCormack will be joined in Munich by fellow Tokyo Olympians Andrew Coscoran (Star of the Sea AC), Sarah Healy (UCD AC), Louise Shanahan (Leevale AC), Marcus Lawler (Clonliffe Harriers), David Kenny (Farranfore Maine Valley AC), Brendan Boyce (Finn Valley AC), Chris O'Donnell (North Sligo AC), Eilish Flanagan (Finn Valley AC), Leon Reid (Menapians AC), Michelle Finn (Leevale AC), and Alex Wright (Leevale AC)

The team also includes an excellent blend of developing athletes including Kate O'Connor (Dundalk St. Gerards AC), and the recent record-breaking UCD pair of Darragh McElhinney and Israel Olatunde

Speaking at today’s team announcement, Athletics Ireland Director of High Performance, Paul McNamara said:

“With 31 individual athletes selected this is the largest cohort we have ever sent to a major championship, despite the higher qualification standards than any previous edition of this championships, and with 25 athletes inside the A standard.  This team includes multiple athletes, both seasoned campaigners and rising stars, that are primed to make an impact, demonstrating both enhanced depth and breadth in our athlete cohort. It’s been a busy season with World Championships and Commonwealth Games for many of this squad, but the European Championships has been the primary focus for 2022”

About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2022. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design