Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

CARA 7 Mile Road Race 1985 Recalled in Video

Down Memory Lane - Cara 7 1985

Little Island - Glanmire

Sunday December 1st 1985

tony o leary winning cara 7 1985

Tony O'Leary, Leevale AC, coming in to win the CARA 7 1985


Video of CARA 7 1985

58 Minute video on Cork Athletics Vimeo account



1985, a distant memory for some of us.....a piece of history for, probably, most.  The images and video are grainy, but give us a glimpse of the safety measures (LOL) of yesteryear, with runners running down the middle of the (old) main Cork-Waterford road, during heavy traffic, in the middle of a busy Sunday afternoon.  How anyone wasn't injured...or probably a miracle!


This was the third and final running of the cara 7, and attracted a phenomenal entry of approx. 950. Even now, a field of 950 would delight most race organisers.

The previous year, 1984, a 14 year Sonia O'Sullivan (misnamed in the results as Sofia) came home in 20th place, in a time of 40:20.


cara 7 1985 a

Liam O'Brien, East Cork AC (on left) matches stride with Tony O'Leary, Leevale AC, negotiating traffic, going through Glanmire village


cara 7 1985 b

Liam O'Brien, East Cork AC and Tony O'Leary, Leevale AC, approach Dunkettle Roundabout


 cara 7 1985 c

Obstacle Course - O'Leary and O'Brien weave through traffic on the main Cork-Waterford Road. O'Brien has moved to the hard shoulder facing traffic, while O'Leary makes his break, running down the middle of the National Primary route, ignoring the cars on either side


cara 7 1985 d

Chasing group negotiating the Cork-Waterford road


john walshe cara 7 1985

John Walshe, then with Midleton AC, finishes the CARA 7 1985



Some of the 1985 CARA 7 Results

Pos Athlete Club Time
1 Tony O'Leary Leevale AC 34:51
2 Liam O'Brien East Cork AC 35:08
3 ?? ??  
4 Martin Casey Togher AC  
5 Sean Harte St Finbarrs AC  
6 Michael Carey Leevale AC  
7 Eric Bergin Leevale AC  
8 Martin Drake Youghal AC  
9 Eric Crockett St Finbarrs AC  
10 ?? St Nicholas AC  
11 ?? St Finbarrs AC  
12 Brian Meade East Cork AC  
13 Seamus Hartnett East Cork AC  
14 Pat Kerrigan Mallow AC  
15 ?? Leevale AC  
16 Jerry Murphy Leevale AC  
17 John O'Leary Leevale AC  
18 John Walshe Midleton AC  
19 ?? ??  
20 George Walsh Youghal AC  
21 Donie Walsh Leevale AC 39:28
22 Eddie Connolly Leevale AC  


Leading Women's Results

Pos Athlete Club Time
1 Valerie O'Mahony Togher AC  
2 Marion Lyons St Finbarrs AC 40:51
3 Anne Murphy Leevale AC 42:24
4 Catherine Speight Leevale AC  



About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2019. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design