Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

11 Cork Athletes Selected for Celtic Games International 2018

Eleven Cork Athletes from Seven Cork Clubs for Celtic Games

Grangemouth, Scotland

Saturday 4th August

Three of the Cork Athletes Representing Ireland

brian lynch old abbey ac photo sam barnes sportsfile glory wenegieme belgooly ac national juvenile championships 2018 lauren mccourt national juvenile championships 2018
Brian Lynch - Old Abbey AC Glory Wenegieme - Belgooly AC Lauren McCourt - Bandon AC



A total of eleven athletes from seven Cork clubs have been selected to represent Ireland at tomorrow's Celtic Games T&F International, in Grangemouth, Scotland


200m Glory Wenegieme Belgooly AC Boys Under 16
Discus Sean O'Riordan Midleton AC Boys Under 16
200m Lauren McCourt Bandon AC Girls Under 18
Triple Jump Aisling Cassidy Leevale AC Girls Under 18
Pole Vault Orla Coffey Carrig-na-bhFhear AC Girls Under 18
Hammer Tirna Cahill Youghal AC Girls Under 18
400mH Brian Lynch Old Abbey AC Boys Under 18
100m Colin Doyle Leevale AC Boys Under 18
400m Shane Ahern Leevale AC Boys Under 18
3000mS/C Frank O'Brien Midleton AC Boys Under 18
Triple Jump Wymin Sivakumar Leevale AC

Boys Under 18


Clubs Represented

Bandon AC
Belgooly AC
Carrig-na-bhFhear AC
Leevale AC
Midleton AC
Old Abbey AC
Youghal AC

Athletics Ireland Release

The Irish team has been announced for the Celtic Games in Grangemouth, Scotland on Saturday 4th August. The teams will be competing in the U16 and U18 age groups at the weekend.

Some of Ireland's brightest young athletes will take to the track and field in Grangemouth Stadium, a number of whom featured prominently at the Irish life Health Juvenile Championships this this month.

Sophie Meredith (St Mary’s Limerick) took gold with a jump of 5.85 in a high-quality U18 Juvenile girls’ long jump competition.

While Aimee Hayde’s (Newport) U15 girls’ 800m record was broken, Hayde's went on to break the U16 record winning gold in 2:11.63. She also smashed the girls U16 1500m record to win gold in 4:30.91 – bettering Siofra Cleirigh Buttner’s record of 4:36.29 set in 2010. She will be competing in the 800m at the Celtic Games this weekend.

Louis O’Loughlin (Donore Harriers) set a CBP to win the U18 boys’ 800m in 1:52.13 at the Juveniles and had a mature performance in the boys’ 800m at the European Athletics U18 Championships in Gyor, Hungary this month.

Lystus Ebosele (DMP) one of the main contenders in the U18 girls’ shot put won with a throw of 13.53m on day 1 of the Juvenile Championships and went on to claim double gold when she won the girls U18 discus on day 2 throwing 31.94m.

Aoibhinn McMahon (Blackrock-Louth) did the double gold on day 2 of the Juveniles, setting a championship best in the girls U16 shot put with 14.14m and winning gold in the U16 gilrs Javelin throwing 41.55, just 23cm shy of the CBP set by Kate O'Connor in 2015.


Irish Under 16 Girls Team

80mH Laura Gallagher DSD AC
100m Aisling Kelly Taghmon AC
800m Aimee Hayde Newport AC
Long Jump Laura Frawley St Mary's Limerick AC
Javelin/Shot Aoibhin McMahon Blackrock AC


Irish Under 16 Boys Team

100mH Cian Dunne DSD AC
200m Glory Wenegieme Belgooly AC
1500m Dylan McBride Willowfield Harriers AC
High Jump Jack Forde St Killians AC
Discus Sean O'Riordan Midleton AC


Irish Under 18 Girls Team

100mH Anna McAuley City of Lisburn AC
400mH Miriam Daly Carrick-on-Suir AC
100m Adeyemi Talabi Longford AC
200m Lauren McCourt Bandon AC
400m Caoimhe Cronin Le Cheile AC
800m Molly Brown MSB AC
1500m Alyce O'Connor Kenmare AC
3000m Aoife O'Cuill St Coca's AC
1500mS/C Roisin O'Reilly Menapians AC
Long Jump Sophie Meredith St Marys (Limerick) AC
High Jump Emily Corcoran Celtic DCH AC
Triple Jump Aisling Cassidy Leevale AC
Pole Vault Orla Coffey Carrig-na-bhFhear AC
Discus/Shot Lystus Ebosele Enniscorthy AC
Javelin Nikki O'Neill Newbridge AC
Hammer Tirna Cahill Youghal AC
4x100m Sive O'Toole SLOT AC
4x100m Awa Fane Mullingar Harriers AC
4x400m Daniella Jansen Finn Valley AC
4x400m Ella Duane Naas AC


Irish Under 18 Boys Team

110mH Joseph McEvoy Nenagh Olympic AC
400mH Brian Lynch Old Abbey AC
100m Colin Doyle Leevale AC
200m Israel Olatunde Dundealgan AC
400m Shane Ahern Leevale AC
800m Louis O'Loughlin Donore Harriers AC
1500m Cian McPhillips Longford AC
3000m Shay McEvoy Kilkenny City Harriers AC
3000m S/C Frank O'Brien Midleton AC
Long Jump Luke O'Carroll Tralee Harriers AC
High Jump Rory MacGabhann Kilkenny City Harriers AC
Triple Jump Wymin Sivakumar Leevale AC
Pole Vault Patrick Fitzgerald West Waterford AC
Discus Darragh Miniter St Mary's Clare AC
Shot Putt Jack Ryan Moycarkey Coolcroo AC
Javelin Conor Cusack Lake District AC
Hammer Sean Maher Raheny Shamrocks AC
4x100m Michael Farrelly Raheny Shamrocks AC
4x100m Sean L'Estrange Raheny Shamrocks AC
4x400m Robert McDonnell Galway City Harriers AC
4x400m Ciaran McManus Fingallians AC

About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2019. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design