Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Cork Athletes Shine at Belfast Milers Meet - June 2019

Belfast Irish Milers Meet


Saturday June 22nd 2019



Several Cork athletes made the long trip to Belfast today, to compete in the Belfast Milers Club International Meet: Leevale AC had a trio of Louise Shanahan, Annette Quaid and Tommy Connolly, who were accompanied by Joe Warne, Doheny AC; Darragh McElhinney, Bantry AC and Sinead O'Regan, Riverstick/Kinsale AC

Sinead O'Regan, Riverstick/Kinsale AC, doubled up, going in the 100m and 200m, placing 2nd and 3rd respectively, in 13.23, and 27.85 sec, respectively

Joe Warne, Doheny AC, won a tight Mens 800m B Race, in 1:54.27, with Leevale AC's Tommy Connolly placing 5th, in 1:56.23


Annette Quaid, Leevale AC, came third in the Women's 800m B Race, in a fine 2:01.52

The two outstanding Cork performances came from Louise Shanahan, Leevale AC and Darragh McElhinney, Bantry AC, with Shanahan taking the headlines, by virtue of an 800m PB, of 2:04.77, to make the European Under-23 Qualifying time, taking a whopping 3.27 secs, of her previous PB of 2:08.04, set at the Irish Milers Meet, in Greystones recently.  Louise's time shoots her right up the Irish All-Time 800m standings, to 27th place overall. From the video (below), Louise was clearly ecstatics with her performance, crossing the line with arms aloft!


Darragh McElhinney, Bantry AC, was also in fine form, also setting a PB, by almost 3 secs. Dropping down to the 1,500m from his more usual 3k/5k, in an impressive finish, in a quality field, Darragh reduced his 3:48.05 PB, set in Belgium in 2017, to 3:45.12


Mens 1500m A Race

Pos Forename Surname Club Time
1 Matt Wigglesworth BMC 03:42.67
2 Andrew Coscoran   03:43.96
3 Darragh McElhinney Bantry AC 03:45.12
4 Shane Fitzsimons   3:45.18
5 Shane Bracken IMC 03:46.79
6 Aaron Phelps BMC 3:47.01
7 Emile Cairess UK 03:48.10
8 Conor Bradley City of Derry Sparta 03:48.18
9 Mitchell Byrne Rathfamham WSAF 03:49.15
10 Shay McEvoy Kilkenny City Harrier 03:50.10
11 Daragh Fitzgibbon Dinore Hamers 03:50.84
12 John Ashcroft BMC 3:51.86
13 Daire Finn Dublin City Hamers 03:54.25
14 James Dunne Tullamore Harriers 03:54.42
15 Kevin Moriarty Raheny Shamrock AC 03:54.95
16 Craig McMeechan North Down AC 03:55.44
17 Padraig Moran Mullingar Harriers 03:56.93
18 Jamie Battle Mullingar Harriers 3:57.84
19 Conal Hayes IMC 03:59.22



Women's 800m A Race

1 Nadia Power Templeogue AC 02:04.05
2 Louise Shanahan Leevale AC 02:04.77
3 Philippa Millage   02:04.48
4 Georgia Yearby   02:05.99
5 Katie Kirk Ulster University 02:06.77
6 Leah Barrow   02:06.92
7 Maisy O'Sullivan St Abbans AC 02:07.29
8 Aimee Hayde Newport AC 02:07.51
9 Rose-Anne Galligan AltiS 02:07.70
10 Mhairi Hendrey   02:08.63
11 Roisin Flanagan Carmen Runners AC 02:08.81
12 Fiona Kehoe Kilore Athletics 02:10.32


Women's 800m B Race

1 Denise Toner Clones AC 02:12.96
2 Mary Morgan Crusaders AC 02:13.58
3 Annette Quaid Leevale 02:01.52
4 Zoe Carruthers City of Lisburn AC 02:16.45
5 Corrine Kenny St Laurence O'Toole AC 02:17.55
6 Sarah Lanigan Dooneen AC 02:19.56
7 Angefcne McShane City of Derry Sparta 02:20.14
8 Aimee Doherty Ratoath AC 02:20.62
9 Maria Dunne St Laurence O'Toole AC 02:24.74


Mens 800m B Race

1 Joe Warne Doheny AC 01:54.27
2 Fearghal O'Hare Crusaders AC 01:54.58
3 Joseph Lyons Talllaght 01:55.11
4 Lee Byrne Ratfarnham WSAF 01:55.33
5 Tommy Connolly Leevale AC 01:56.23
6 Jack Maher Galway City Harriers 01:58.02
7 Cormac O'Rourke Lagan Valley AC 02:01.18
8 Hamja Kamiti Aspire Academy 02:04.02

Women's 100m (+0.1 m/s)

1 Orlagh Leer Monaghan Phoenix 13.17
2 Sinead O'Regan Riverstick/Kinsale AC 13.23
3 lynsey Brown City of Lisburn 14.01
4 TiWy McKeown Armagh AC 14.07
5 Tina Gallagher OMG AC 15.32
6 Darragh Andrews North Belfast Harriers 17.53
7 Joan Melanophy St Peters AC 17.69

Women's 200m (-1.0 m/s)

1 Janine Boyle Finn Valley AC 25.79
2 Orlagh Leer Monaghan Phoenix 26.89
3 Sinead O'Regan Riverstick/Kinsale AC 27.85
4 Tilly McKeown Armagh AC 28.84
5 Lynsey Brown City of Lisburn 29.79
6 Tina Gallagher OMG AC 31 56
7 Oarragh Andrews North Belfast harner 37.21
8 Joan Melanophy St Peterc AC 37.58


Videos by East Down AC

Mens 1500m A Race



Darragh McElhinney Interviewed


Womens 800m A Race



About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2022. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design