Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Results Summary from Irish Life Health National Senior T&F Championships Day 1 2017

Phil Healy Speeds to 200m Gold

Athletics Ireland National Senior T&F Championships 2017 - Day 1

Morton Stadium, Santry, Dublin

Saturday July 22nd 2017


phil healy athletics ireland national 200m championships 2017


Phil Healy, Bandon AC, won today's National Senior 200m Title, in 23.56 seconds, earning her the accolade "The Bandon Bullet", as described by Feidhlim Kelly, Athletics Ireland's press Officer.  

Sixteen (16) titles were settled today, with Phil Healy and David Tierney (Leevale A.C.) both taking Gold. David tokk the 56lb for height title, with a throw height of 4.5m.  Phil and David were the only Cork medalists from Day 1.



Phil Healy Speaking after her 200m Win



Event Timetable - Day 2



Results of Athletics Ireland Registered Events - May 2016 to date

Race Calendar / Fixtures List - Athletics Ireland Registered Events

Road Races Next Month - July 2017

Cork Athletics Find Your Race copy


Athletics Ireland Day 1 Report - Feidhlim Kelly


Healy Heralds Excellent Day 1

Phil Healy (Bandon) and Saragh Buggy (St Abban’s) were among the highlights of an excellent first day of competition at the Irish Life Health National Championships in Morton Stadium today, July 22.

Healy, the Bandon bullet, sped to 200m gold in 23.56, ahead of Cliodhna Manning (Kilkenny City Harriers), in 23.70 seconds, and Niamh Whelan (Ferrybank) in third in 23.92 seconds. Eanna Madden (Carrick-on-Shannon) won the men’s 200m, in a swift 21.07 seconds.

Saragh Buggy produced a championship best performance to win the women’s triple jump with 13.01m.

Ryan McCullough (Donore Harriers) won an excellent men’s hammer competition in 65.84m, ahead of Padraig White (Dunboyne A.C.) with 64.62, and Adam King (Iveragh A.C.) with 63.88m. Owen Russell (St Andrew’s) also threw consistently over 60m, with a best of 62.32m in fourth.


Full Results from Day 1

Day 1 Results Summary (Top 3)



Phil Healy (Bandon A.C.) 23.56, 2. Cliodhna Manning (Kilkenny City Harriers A.C.) 23.70, 3. Niamh Whelan (Ferrybank A.C.) 23.92



Emma Mitchell (Queens University AC) 16:27.08, 2. Annmarie McGlynn (Letterkenny A.C.) 16:35.83, 3. Shona Heaslip (An Riocht A.C.) 16:36.15            


5000m Walk

Kate Veale (West Waterford A.C.) 23:22.15, 2. Emma Prendiville (Farranfore Maine Valley A.C.) 24:54.99, 2. Veronica Burke (Ballinasloe & District) 25:27.97



Mullingar Harriers 49.36, 2. Fingallians A.C. 49.95, 3. Tralee Harriers A.C. 50.64


Triple Jump

Saragh Buggy (St Abbans A.C.) 13.01, 2. Maria Carey (Newport A.C.) 11.85, 3. Grace Furlong (Waterford A.C.) 11.67



Clare Fitzgerald (Tralee Harriers A.C.) 51.17, 2. Emma Owens (St. Pauls A.C.) 36.80, 3. Anne-Marie Torsney (Fingallians A.C.) 36.52



Grace Casey (Eire Og Corra Choill A.C.) 43.42, 2. Clare Fitzgearld (Tralee Harriers A.C.) 41.15, 3. Orlaith O’Brien (Waterford A.C.) 40.34




Eanna Madden (Carrick-on-Shannon A.C.) 21.07, 2. Jeremy Phillips (Clonliffe Harriers A.C.) 21.14, 3. Robert Bennett (Nenagh Olympic A.C.) 21.51


3000m S/C

Adam Kirk-Smith (Derry City Track Club) 8:55.72, 2. Jayme Rossiter (Clonliffe Harriers A.C.) 9:18.14, 3. Enda Cloake (Slaney Olympic A.C.) 10:13.61



Kevin Dooney (Raheny Shamrock A.C.) 29:30.16, 2. Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock A.C.) 29:35.66, 3. Kevin Maunsell (Clonmel A.C.) 29:52.08



Nenagh Olympic A.C. 42.94, 2. Menapians A.C.   43.02, 3. Emerald A.C. 43.24



Ryan McCullough (Donore Harriers) 65.84, 2. Padraig White (Dunboyne A.C.) 64.62, 3. Adam King (Iveragh A.C.) 63.88


Triple Jump

Denis Finnegan (An Riocht A.C.) 15.39, 2. Mark Burton (City of Lisburn AC) 13.91, 3. Andrii Mahin (Clonliffe Harriers A.C.) 13.70


35lb Height

Seamus McMahon (Shannon A.C.) 4.70


56lb Height

David Tierney (Leevale A.C.) 4.50, 2. John Dwyer (Templemore A.C.) 4.40, 3. Brendan Staunton (Galway City Harriers A.C.) 3.60



Stephen Rice (Clonliffe Harriers A.C.) 62.94, 2. Rory Gunning (Clonliffe Harriers A.C.) 62.35, 3. Shane Joyce (Cushinstown A.C.) 57.30 


About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2019. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design