Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Cork Athletics County Senior Cross-Country Championship Results November 2003

Results of Cork Athletics County Senior Cross-Country Championships 2003

Inchigeela, Macroom, Co. Cork

Sunday November 9th 2003

Organised and hosted by West Muskerry AC


These events were organised and hosted by West Muskerry AC. Cork Athletics, along with West Muskerry AC, acknowledges, with gratitude, the many other landowners, and their families, for permitting the use of their lands for cross-country events every year. 

Without the kind permission of all these landowners who provide their lands and premises for cross-country events, it would not be possible to hold cross-country events.



 donnacha o mahony  freda davoren photo inpho 00093625
Donnacha O'Mahony, East Cork AC, County Senior Cross-Country Champion 2003

Freda Davoren, UCC AC, County Senior Cross-Country Champion 2003
Photo: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO


Cork Athletics Homepage

Cork Athletics Facebook page

Results of Athletics Ireland Registered Events - June 2016 to date

Results of Athletics Ireland Registered Events - April 2014 to June 2016 (on Old Cork Athletics website)


Race Calendar / Fixtures List - Athletics Ireland Registered Events

Irish Examiner Report

by Brendan Mooney

O’Mahony sees off young challengers to regain cross-country title

Donnacha O’Manony (East Cork) rolled back the years to reclaim the Cork senior cross-country championship title while Freda Davoren (UCC AC) ran her first cross-country race in almost two years to claim her first county title at Inchigeela yesterday, when East Cork eventually won an enthralling team contest with their North Cork rivals.

It was back in the '90s that Donnacha O'Mahony dominated those championships winning a total four titles and when he returned last year to take the silver medal behind world ranked race walker Robert Heffernan, he raised a few eyebrows.

If he showed promise at the same venue a year ago he certainly realised it yesterday when the elements provided a mixture of conditions on an excellent course provided by the Muskerry Athletic Club.

He faced some of the brightest young prospects but jumped into an early breakaway group that also included David Doherty (Togher) and Bryan McMahon (Carraig na bhFear), who won the Munster novice and under-23 championships just a week earlier, as well as three of last year's outstanding juniors, Mark Hanrahan (Leevale), Fergus Meade (East Cork) and Garret Barry.

When O'Mahony went to the front, however, the process of elimination began and he eventually finished well clear of Fergus Meade, with Mark Hanrahan third.

Now teaching in Coláiste Muire, Ennis, he is as yet undecided about the inter-counties championships at the end of the year as his wife is expecting their second baby around that time.

Freda Davoren had not run a cross-country race since she dropped out of the national inter-counties championships in Dungarvan two years ago with a hamstring problem.

This year she just failed to make the qualifying standard for the world track and field championships in Paris.

Yesterday she made a dramatic return to cross-country running when she became involved in an exciting head to head with clubmate and training partner Louise Cavanagh, who has won this title five times.

After several attempts to get away on the final circuit she eventually broke clear to win by seven seconds. They were followed across the line by Niamh O'Sullivan (Riocht), who was guesting, with the bronze medal going to ever-green Carmel Parnell (Leevale) who won this title back in 1984.

"I am not sure if I will run in the inter-counties championships," Freda said. "I still have a slight injury problem and hills aggravate it so I will wait and see if the course is hilly. My coach wants me to run a cross-country race every four to six weeks so obviously I will think about it."

The junior men's title went to Jamie McCarthy (Riverstick/Kinsale), the schools 5,000m champion who had 23 seconds to spare over 15-year-old Ciaran Ó Lionáird (Leevale), with Timmy O'Donoghue (Glenbower) third and Kieran Ryan (St Finbarr's) next.

While the medals went to the Cork athletes, the race itself was won impressively by Andrew Ledwith from Co Meath a nephew of legendary middle-distance man Val Ledwith who is studying at the North Mon.

Aoife Cooke (Youghal AC) broke away on the final lap to win the junior women's title from Louise Finn (Belgooly), winner of the Munster under-16 title a week earlier. Maire Heffernan (Liscarroll) finished third.


Results of Cork Athletics County Senior Cross-Country Championships 2003

Sunday November 9th, Inchigeela, Macroom, Co Cork

Organised and hosted by West Muskerry AC, on behalf of Cork Cork Athletics County Board


Senior Men

1 Donnacha O'Mahony M East Cork
2 Fergus Meade M East Cork
3 Mark Hanrahan M Leevale
4 Brian McMahon M Carraig na bhFear
5 Garret Barry M North Cork
6 David Doherty M Togher
7 Cathal O'Connell M St Finbarrs
8 Robbie Neill M North Cork
9 Josh Palmer M Togher
10 Sean Whelan M Eagle
11 Alan O'Shea M Bantry
12 Cillian O Tuana M Leevale
13 Des Casey M Milstreet
14 Derek O'Leary M St Finbarrs
15 Ivan O'Connell M North Cork
16 Ger McAuliffe M North Cork
17 Eric Meade M East Cork
18 Martin Drake M East Cork
19 Patrick Browne M Togher
20 Ger Dunlea M Eagle
21 Tadgh O'Callaghan M Togher
22 Eoin O'Sullivan M Donoughmore
23 Eamonn McEvoy M St Finbarrs
24 Ian O'Sullivan M East Cork
25 Damian Collins M Leevale
26 Kieran Hurley M Togher
27 N Hall M Togher
28 Michael Murphy M St Finbarrs
29 Denis McCarthy M East Cork
30 Ronan Crowley M Leevale
31 T Coffey M North Cork
32 Michael Dunne M St Finbarrs
33 Patrick Murphy M Eagle
34 Wieslaw Sosnowski M Eagle
35 Paul Dinan M St Finbarrs
36 James Murphy M Skibbereen
37 Michael Kilmeade M St Finbarrs
38 John Quigley M Eagle
39 John Walshe M East Cork
40 Jerry Murphy M Leevale
41 John Griffin M Carraig na bhFear


Senior Mens Teams

1 East Cork 1, 2, 17, 18 38
2 North Cork 5, 8, 15, 16 44
3 Togher 6, 9, 19, 21 55
4 Leevale 3, 12, 25, 30 70
Pos Club Scorers Pts
1 St Finbarrs 7, 14, 23, 28 72
2 Eagle 10, 20, 33, 34 97

Senior Women

1 Freda Davoren F UCC 00:18:47
2 Louise Cavanagh F UCC 00:18:57
0 Niamh O'Sullivan F An Riocht (Guest) 00:19:17
3 Carmel Parnell F Leevale 00:19:44
4 Olga Cronin F East Cork 00:20:08
5 Joan Hough F St Finbarrs  
6 Angela Shine F UCC  
7 Ann Marie Healy F Eagle  
8 Jennifer Goddin F UCC  
9 Blaithin Hannon F St Finbarrs  
10 Sharon McGarry F St Finbarrs  
11 Claire Deane F East Cork  
12 T Hennessy F East Cork  
13 Dawn Kelly F Belgooly  
14 Emma Le Grand F Eagle  
15 Angie Ameodo F St Finbarrs  
16 Eibhlin Cleary F East Cork  
17 S Parkinson F East Cork  
18 Margaret Horgan F Donoughmore  


Senior Womens Teams

1 UCC 1, 2, 6, 8 17
2 St Finbarrs 5, 9, 10, 16 39
3 East Cork 4, 11, 12, 16 43


Historical County Senior Cross-Country Championship Results


About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2022. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design