Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Cork Athletics County Novice Cross-Country Championship Results October 1996

Results of Cork Athletics County Novice Cross-Country Championships 1996

Castlemartyr, Co. Cork

Sunday October 13th 1996

Organised and hosted by Midleton AC


These events were organised and hosted by Midleton AC. Cork Athletics, along with Midleton AC, acknowledges, with gratitude, the many other landowners, and their families, for permitting the use of their lands for cross-country events every year. 

Without the kind permission of all these landowners who provide their lands and premises for cross-country events, it would not be possible to hold cross-country events.



 shane simcox cork sports partnership seminar  ucc ac logo
Shane Simcox, North Cork AC, County Novice Cross-Country Champion 1996

M. Sheedy, UCC AC, County Novice Cross-Country Champion 1996


Cork Athletics Homepage

Cork Athletics Facebook page

Results of Athletics Ireland Registered Events - June 2016 to date

Results of Athletics Ireland Registered Events - April 2014 to June 2016 (on Old Cork Athletics website)


Race Calendar / Fixtures List - Athletics Ireland Registered Events


Results of Cork Athletics County Novice Cross-Country Championships 1996

Sunday October 13th 1996, Castlemartyr, Co Cork

Organised and hosted by Midleton AC, on behalf of Cork Athletics County Board


Novice Men

1 Shane Simcox M North Cork
2 David Lynch M Togher
3 Robert Heffernan M Togher
4 Liam O'Mahony M Eagle
5 Robert Fitzgerald M UCC
6 Paul O'Sullivan M North Cork
7 Ken Mulcahy M St Finbarrs
8 Padraig O Dubhgain M Leevale
9 Paul Dinan M Togher
10 Pat Murphy M Eagle
11 Pat Hegarty M Eagle
12 Conor Delahunty M UCC
13 John Delaney M St Finbarrs
14 Joe Copithorne M West Cork
15 Joe Murphy M Eagle
16 Adrian Doyle M UCC
17 Mark Herlihy M North Cork
18 John Murphy M North Cork
19 Anthony Quinn M West Cork
20 Tom Quaid M North Cork
21 Neilus Ahern M Midleton
22 Michael Dunne M St Finbarrs
23 Dave O'Brien M St Finbarrs
24 Pat Murphy M Ballymore-Cobh
25 Tom Herlihy M Ballymore-Cobh
26 Shane Hayes M West Cork
27 Pat Cronin M West Cork
28 Philip Farrissey M North Cork
29 Billy O'Grady M Eagle
30 Pat Walsh M West Cork
31 Maurice Duignan M St Finbarrs
32 Ken Power M UCC
33 Pat Herlihy M Eagle
34 Noel Quinn M St Finbarrs
35 Dan Linehan M Togher
36 Tim Healy M North Cork
37 Liam Fleming M West Cork
38 T Downey M Grange


Novice Mens Teams

1 Eagle 4, 10, 11, 15 40
2 North Cork 1, 6, 17, 18 42
3 Togher 2, 3, 9, 35 49
4 St Finbarrs 7, 13, 23, 23 65
5 UCC 5, 12, 16, 32 65
6 West Cork 14, 19, 26, 27 86

Novice Women

1 Mary Sheedy F UCC
2 Catherine Keohane F West Cork
3 Fidelma Kirwan F Eagle
4 Vickie Twomey F West Cork
5 Anne Campbell F West Cork
6 Karen Finn F Eagle
7 Breda Morrissey F Eagle
8 Monica Twohig F Eagle
9 A Dex F West Cork


Novice Womens Teams

1 West Cork 2, 4, 5, 9 20
2 Eagle 3, 6, 7, 8 24

About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2019. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design