Cork Athletics International Awards 2016

The Cork Athletics International Awards night was held in the Imperial Hotel, South Mall, Cork, on Friday 29th January 2016.

A large attendance of approx. 250 people attended this year's awards night.  MC for the night was John Quigley, Cork Athletics Webmaster, deputising for Cork Athletics regular MC, Pat Walsh.. The attendance at the Awards ceremony was addressed by Cork Athletics Chairman, Bill Allen and Peter Hanlon, Chair of Finance and, Athletics Ireland.

Photos on Cork Athletics Flickr account

International Awards

Cork Athletics International Awards Recipients 2016 - Athletes who represented Ireland during 2015

Thirty one athletes received awards, having represented Ireland during 2015. The awards were presented, alternately, by Bill Allen and Peter Hanlon

Cork athletes who represented Ireland during 2015 were:

Michael Harty (East Cork AC), Frank Hayes (St. Catherine's AC), Brandon Arrey (Blarney-Inniscarra AC), Pat Moore (Leevale AC), Tim Twomey (Leevale AC), Carmel Parnell (Leevale AC), Rosaleen McKeown (Leevale AC), Sam Healy (Leevale AC), Rhona Pierce (Leevale AC), Ciaran O'Lionaird (Leevale AC), Michelle Finn (Leevale AC), Colm Sheehan (Leevale AC), Ryan Creech (Leevale AC), Ryan Creech (Leevale AC), Joan Hough (Midleton AC), Mary Sweeney (St. Finbarr’s AC), Lizzie Lee (Leevale AC), Kathleen O’Brien (St. Catherine’s AC), Scott Gibson (Bandon AC), Robbie Heffernan (Togher AC), Noelle Linehan (North Cork AC), Carmel Crowley (Bandon AC), Eamonn McEvoy (St. Finbarr’s AC), Phil Healy (Bandon AC), Mark O’Sullivan (Bandon AC)

Cork Athletics International Awards Booklet 2016

Cork Athletics International Awards Booklet 2016

Aspiring Athlete Award Recipients 2016

Cork Athletics Aspiring Juvenile Athletes Recipients 2016

Joey Henchy (Bandon AC), Sarah Hayes (Skibbereen AC), Diarmuid Clancy (Abbey Striders AC), Fearghal Curtin (Youghal AC), Evan Byrne (Togher AC), Sean Broderick (Youghal AC), Laura Cussen (Old Abbey AC), Eoin Walsh (West Muskerry AC), Tom Deasy (Belgooly AC), Leah Deasy (Belgooly AC), Ruairi Casey (Togher AC), Kate Bernard (Bandon AC), Travis Coomey (Bandon AC), Fiona Everard (Bandon AC), Bobby Smith (Bandon AC), Colin Kingston (Bandon AC), Gavin Hicks (Bandon AC), Amy Linehan (North Cork AC), Sarah Corbett (North Cork AC), Luke Horgan (Leevale AC), Maeve Ahern (Leevale AC), Andrea Christie (Leevale AC), Jack Murphy (Leevale AC), Charlie O’Donovan (Leevale AC), Daniel O’Mahony (Leevale AC)

Graded Leagues

Best Overall Athlete

Phil Healy (Bandon AC)

Best Field Event Athlete Over 3 Meets

1    Hayley Fitzgerald Belgooly AC
2    Brian Hayes Leevale AC
3    Mary Fitzgerald Belgooly AC

Best Club

1   Leevale AC
2   Bandon AC
3   Togher AC

Graded Leagues Prizewinners

Meet Track Athlete Field Athlete
Meet 1 Michelle Finn (Leevale AC) Sarka Baranska (Leevale AC)
Meet 2 Phil Healy (Bandon AC) Andreas Purrmawn (East Cork AC)
Meet 3 Jessica Neville (Leevale AC) Niamh Murphy (Blarney Inniscarra AC)
Meet 4 Carol Finn (Leevale AC) Promise Okfar (Bandon AC)
Meet 5 Jessica Neville (Leevale AC) Brian Hayes (Leevale AC)
Meet 6 Carol Finn (Leevale AC) Mary Fitzgerald (Belgooly AC)

Cork Team - Winners of 1963 National Senior Cross-Country Championship

Winning Team members from 1963 National Senior Cross-Country Championships

Athletes from 1963 team, and representatives, with the trophy, and the commemorative plaque

Athlete Club
Willie Webb Rising Sun AC
Mossie O'Donoghue Milstreet AC
Willie Joe Shine Meelin AC
John O'Brien Ballymore-Cobh AC
John Twomey Meelin AC
David O'Connor Meelin AC
Mattie Murphy Rising Sun AC
Willie Neenan Milstreet AC
Denis O'Leary Hilltown AC
John O'Mahony Hilltown AC
James Cummins Grange-Fermoy AC
Mossie O'Donoghue Rising Sun AC
Cork Athletics 1963 Winning National Cross-Country Team Presentation Booklet 2016

Plaque Commemorating Cork Team's Win in 1963 National Senior Cross-Country ChampionshipCork Athletics Plaque commemoration the Cork Senior Cross-Country team's National Senior Cross-Country win  in 1963


Cork Athletics International Awards Attendance 2016

Some of the large attendance of over 250.

Some of the Previous Awards

2015 Awards
2014 Awards
2012 Awards
  - scroll down page
2009 Awards
2008 Awards