Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Lizzie Lee and Claire McCarthy Selected for European Championships Marathon Championships - Berlin 2018

Leevale Pair Among Eleven Athletes for European Marathon Championships

Berlin, Germany

August 2018


 lizzie lee claire mccarthy photo leevale ac

Lizzie Lee and Claire McCarthy, at the 2018 Cork City Sports Athlete of the Year Awards - Photo: Leevale AC


Leevale athletes Claire McCarthy and Lizzie Lee have been selected by Athletics Ireland for the European Marathon Championships, which will be held in Berlin, Germany, next August.  Claire is coached by Ronan Boland (Eagle AC), while Lizzie is coached by Donie Walsh (Leevale AC)

The Leevale girls selection comes off the back of a great performance at the recent World-Half Marathon Championships,in Valencia, Spain, a month ago, on Saturday March 24th, where they led the Irish team home, with bothe girls recording PB's : Lizzie Lee (46th place, 73:19) & Claire McCarthy (57th place, 74:20)

Athletics Ireland release - Feidhlim Kelly

Irish Marathon Teams for European Championships Announced

11 Irish athletes have been selected to run the Marathon at the European Athletics Championships in Berlin this August.

The 11-strong team includes five Olympians – Lizzie Lee (Leevale), Breege Connolly (North Belfast Harriers), Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock), Paul Pollock (Annadale Striders) and Kevin Seaward (St Malachy’s) – and a number of athletes in good form.

Kevin Seaward recently finished fourth in the marathon for Northern Ireland at the Commonwealth Games on Australia's Gold Coast, while Stephen Scullion ran a personal best of 2:15:55 at the London marathon last weekend.

The team has bags of experience with the vast majority of the team seasoned internationals.

The marathon in Berlin also encompasses the European Cup team competition and the Irish teams will be looking to combine well collectively as well as individually.

Paul McNamara, Athletics Ireland High Performance Director

High Performance Director Paul McNamara said “We’ve seen a steady increase in the standard of Irish marathon running in recent years and it is significant to be in a position to select 11 athletes for the European Marathon Championships including the European Marathon Team Cup.  Both of these teams should be highly competitive in Berlin based on past results.  In 2014, the last edition of this event, we had no sub-2:17 performers start the men’s race, while now we have 6 athletes comfortably inside that standard, while 4 of the 5 women selected have significant championship experience.  The early selection date allows these athletes to focus on optimal preparation to produce a peak performance at the championships.”


Women's Team

Breege Connolly North Belfast Harriers AC Donie Walsh
Gladys Ganiel North Belfast Harriers AC Matt Shields
Laura Graham Mourne Runners AC Ryan Maxwell
Lizzie Lee Leevale AC Donie Walsh
Claire McCarthy Leevale AC Ronan Boland


Men's Team

Sergiu Ciobanu Clonliffe Harriers AC Jerry Kiernan
Mick Clohisey Raheny Shamrock AC Dick Hooper
Sean Hehir Rathfarnham WSAF AC Dick Hooper
Paul Pollock Annadale Striders AC Andy Hobdell
Stephen Scullion Clonliffe Harriers AC Stephen Haas
Kevin Seaward St Malachy's AC Andy Hobdell

About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2022. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design