Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Phil Healy Named on Irish Team for European Indoors

Bandon AC's Phil Healy Selected for Irish Team at European Indoor Championships

Belgrade, Serbia
Friday March 3rd - Sunday March 5th


Phil Healy 640x330

Phil Healy - Photo:


Bandon AC's Phil Healy, fresh from a week in which she set several PBs, has been selected, in both the Womens 60m and Womens 400m, for the Irish team in Belgrade. On Wednesday last, at the AIT International Grand Prix, Phil set a PB in the 60m heats, and again in the final, with 7.31 sec, just 0.01 sec outside the National record. Her outstanding form continued on Sunday, in Abbotstown, where she claimed the National Indoor 400m Title, in another PB of 53.49 sec


11-Strong Irish Team Selected for European Indoors

Athletics Ireland Press Release - Feidhlim Kelly

An 11-strong Irish team has been selected for the European Indoor Championships in Belgrade, Serbia on March 3rd-5th.

This will be the first phase of the next four year Olympic cycle in Tokyo 2020 and European outdoor 1500m bronze medallist Ciara Mageean is one of the leading names on the team. The UCD athlete will be looking for another strong showing in Belgrade. She will be joined by fellow Rio Olympian Kerry O’Flaherty. The Newcastle athlete competed at the Rio Olympics in the 3,000m steeplechase.  

Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers) is currently ranked 10th on the European indoor list in the 400m and will be looking to take it round by round in the two lap event.

17-year-old Ciara Neville (Emerald) makes her first major senior championship and should provide an excellent platform to gain some experience against Europe’s best athletes.

Amy Foster (City of Lisburn) will also compete in the 60m and Phil Healy (Bandon) is entered in the short sprint but the emphasis will be on the 400m where she won the Irish Life Health national senior indoor title on Sunday. Sinead Denny (DSD) is also in the 400m and made the semi-finals of the European outdoors last summer.

John Travers (Donore Harriers) is in the 1500m and he will be aiming to replicate his performance from the last edition in Prague by making the final.

Zak Curran (DSD) and Tomas Cotter (Dunleer) make their European Indoor debuts in the 800m and 3,000m respectively.

Ben Reynolds (North Down) is an experienced indoor international campaigner and

The team is headed by Patsy McGonagle as team manager. The Finn Valley man is vastly experienced having been team manager at four Olympic Games and he is excited as the next Olympic cycle begins.

McGonagle said “This is the first step out into the next Olympic cycle having acquitted ourselves extremely well in Rio. We will be building from that and we look forward to the year ahead. This will be the highlight of the indoor season at elite level.”  


European ranking list

Irish Team:

Phil Healy (Bandon) 60m, 400m

Ciara Neville (Emerald) 60m

Amy Foster (City of Lisburn) 60m

Sinead Denny (DSD) 400m

Ciara Mageean (UCD) 1500m

Kerry O’Flaherty (Newcastle) 1500m

Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers) 400m

Zak Curran (DSD) 800m

John Travers (Donore Harriers) 1500m

Tomas Cotter (Dunleer) 3,000m

Ben Reynolds (North Down) 60m hurdles

Team manager: Patsy McGonagle

About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2022. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design