Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Olympic Qualification Time for Aoife Cooke - Cheshire Elite Marathon 2021

Aoife Cooke Run Olympics Qualification Time of 2:28:36

Cheshire Elite Marathon

Pulford, Cheshire, UK

Sunday April 25th 2020

cooke wins cheshire elite marathon 2021

Aoife Cooke crosses the finish line - Note: Clock time started with first wave, while Aoife's wave started approx. 1 minute later

Aoife Cooke, Eagle AC, led from the front to win the women's race at today's Cheshire Elite Marathon, in Pulford, Cheshire. More importantly, she achieved the Olympic Marathon Qualification Time of 2:29:36 by almost a full minute.  She also moves up to fourth place in the all-time Irish Marathon rankings, overhauling Sonia O'Sullivan.


aoife cooke cheshire elite marathon 2021

With the pressure, particularly given the lack of qualification marathons in the current pandemic, of making the time, now lifted, she is free to devote the next three months leading up to the Olympic Marathon to concentrating on her performance in Tokyo.


Race Video


Anne Marie McGlynn

anne marie mcglynn cheshire elite marathon 2021


Ireland's Anne Marie McGlynn finished in third place, in 2:29:34, an agonising 4 seconds outside the Olympic Qualification time

All-Time Irish Women's Marathon Standings Before Today

all time irish womens marathon standings april 2021


Irish Results

Full Results


9 Gary O'Hanlon M45 Clonliffe Harriers AC 02:21:38 02:21:36  
15 Sean Hehir M Metro St. Brigid's AC 02:23:36 02:23:36  
22 Declan Reed M45 City of Derry AC Spartans 02:25:16 02:25:13  
29 Steven McAlary M City of Derry AC Spartans 02:26:46 02:26:44  
36 Aoife Cooke F Eagle AC 02:28:36 02:28:36 Olympic Qualifying Time
38 James Doran M An Riocht AC 02:29:00 02:28:58  
42 Ann-Marie McGlynn F40 Letterkenny ac 02:29:34 02:29:34  
43 Kyle Doherty M City of Derry AC Spartans 02:29:34 02:29:34  
44 Karl Nolan M Clonliffe Harriers AC 02:29:37 02:29:37  
58 Tommy Hughes M60 Strive Racing Club 02:31:18 02:31:17  
63 Niall O'Riordan M40 An bru 02:32:17 02:32:17  
70 Dylan Hassett F Leevale AC 02:33:27 02:33:25  
78 Tommy O'Brien M45 An Riocht AC 02:34:28 02:34:23  
79 Stephen Conroy M Celbridge AC 02:35:03 02:35:02  
106 Patrick Mahon M City of Derry AC Spartans 02:39:41 02:39:40  
108 Fionnuala Ross F Armagh AC 02:39:58 02:39:58  
122 Gladys Ganiel M40 North Belfast Harriers 02:43:58 02:43:57  
130 Shane Donnelly M Strive Racing Club 02:46:55 02:46:54  
136 Conor Gallagher M Letterkenny ac 02:54:20 02:54:20  
146 Eimear O'Connor F UCD AC 02:59:10 02:59:09  

About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2022. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design