Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Cork All-Time Male and Female Marathon Standings

Top 10 Cork All-Time Male and Female Marathon Standings

Compiled by John Walshe

(with amendment by John Quigley)

as at November 13th 2018


 sonia o sullivan london marathon 2005  mark carroll photo brendan moran sportsfile a
 Sonia O'Sullivan running in 2005 Flora London Marathon  Mark Carroll - Photo: Brendan Moran / Sportsfile


John Walshe has compiled a list of the top 10 All-Time Marathon standings by Cork men and women.  The list is a 'work-in-progress', so if you can shine some light on omissions or corrections, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - He'll be delighted to hear from you!

Update Nov 13th 2018

Ricky Burke's (St. Finbarr's AC) 1987 Belfast Marathon time (2:19:24) has been added, placing Ricky 6th on the List, and dropping Micheal Walsh out of the top 10.


Note: These lists comprise only of Cork-born athletes. There are many athletes who are not included in the list, even though they may have spent much of their lives in Cork, but who were born elsewhere, whether it was an other Irish county, or abroad.


Family Connections

Notable features of the listings are family relations, with father and daughter Richard (R.I.P.) and Jill Hodgins, brothers Michael and Donie Walsh, and husband & wife Martin and Claire McCarthy.


Top 10 Women's Listing

The Women's list makes interesting reading, with no less than six clubs represented. Many of the names will be familiar to all, however there are one or two that may not be so, like Brid Murphy and Valerie Vaughan

1 Sonia O'Sullivan Ballymore-Cobh AC 02:29:01 London 2005
2 Lizzie Lee Leevale AC 02:32:51 Berlin 2015
3 Claire McCarthy Leevale AC 02:38:00 Berlin 2016
4 Brid Murphy Leevale AC 02:43:00 Dublin 1992
5 Aoife Cooke Youghal AC 02:46:37 Amsterdam 2017
6 Jill Hodgins Leevale AC 02:46:58 Seville 2012
7 Valerie Vaughan Blarney-Inniscarra AC 02:47:56 London 2004
8 Emma Murphy St Finbarrs AC 02:50:16 Rotterdam 2014
9 Nollaig O'Neill (Hunter) Leevale AC 02:50:22 Cork 2014
10 Joyce Curtin-Miller East Cork AC 02:50:28 Houston 2016


Top 11 Men's Listing

The men's listing reads like a Leevale AC 'Tour de Force' with nine of the ten held by Leevale AC athletes. Again some of the names will be familiar to all, but quite a few will not, like Sean Healy's 1971 performance - 47 years ago, which places him at Number 2 on the All-Time list, Sean O'Flynn, at Number 5, (1982) and Michael Walsh's 1983 performance on 'home soil', right here in Cork


1 Mark Carroll Leevale AC 02:10:54 New York 2003
2 Sean Healy Leevale AC 02:15:03 Nigeria 1971
3 Donie Walsh Leevale AC 02:15:21 Athlone 1972
4 Martin McCarthy Leevale AC 02:18:45 Berlin 2003
5 Sean O'Flynn Leevale AC 02:19:05 Virginia 1982
6 Ricky Burke St Finbarr's AC 02:19:24 Belfast 1987
7 Alan O'Shea Bantry AC 02:19:35 Cannes 2011
8 Tony O'Leary Leevale AC 02:19:43 Dublin 1988
9 Dick Hodgins Leevale AC 02:19:46 Galway 1975
10 Mark Hanrahan Leevale AC 02:19:52 Rotterdam 2016
11 Michael Walsh Leevale AC 02:20:23 Cork 1983



About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2019. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design