Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Results from National Juvenile Track and Field Championships Day 1 2022

National Juvenile T&F Championships Day 1 2022

Tullamore, Co. Offaly

Sunday July 3rd 2022


Results courtesy of Athletics Ireland


Official results on Athletics Ireland Website

Athletics Ireland Report



There was no shortage of thrilling athletics competition on day 1 of the Irish Life Health National Juvenile Track and Field Championships in Tullamore today (July 3rd)

The hurdles got the track action up and running and it was Lucy McGlynn (Tir Chonaill AC) who shone once more with another impressive performance in taking the U19 100m hurdles title in a time of 14.38, adding to the senior bronze 400mH medal claimed last weekend

Adam Nolan (SLOT) was favourite heading into the U19 110mH final, and the St Laurence O’Toole athlete delivered with a very smooth 14.86 to claim gold

The girls U18 800m race provided one of the races of the day with Renee Crotty (Annalee AC) and Eve Marie Noctor (Lucan Harriers) duelling it out from the back straight. Crotty would ultimately maintain her form coming up the home straight to claim gold in a time of 2.20.33, with Noctor crossing in 2.20.73

Cian Gorham of St Peter’s AC took a brilliant gold medal in the boys U18 race, crossing in 1.56.94 from Seamus Robinson of Westbury Harriers who followed him across the line in 1.57.03. Emma Moore impressed in the Girls U19 800m final, claiming gold for Galway City Harriers in 2.13.75

Oisin Kelly (Cranford AC) is this year's U19 800m champion with a 1.55.03 performance proving enough in a brilliant finish with Finn Boyle of Crusaders who crossed in 1.55.77 for silver

In the field events, Grace Fitzgerald of Tipperary Town AC claimed gold in the U19 triple jump competition with a best jump of 11.44m

The U19 shot put competition saw an outstanding round of consistent throws from Kirbyanne Ryan (Tralee Harriers AC) who took gold with a best throw of 10.19m. Adrienne Gallen of Lifford Strabane took silver (9.82), with Aoife Giles of Cranford AC the bronze (9.64)

The U18 discus titles went the way of Kacper Adamski (Tír Chonaill AC 39.47m) and Claire Kennedy (Birr AC 36.63).

Another highlight on the day was the new championship record posted by Tara O'Connor in the girls U16 high jump competition. The Dundalk St Gerards athlete cleared an impressive 1.73m to take gold, but was pushed all the way by Siun Quinn of Brothers Pearse AC who bowed out at 1.70m

Conor Penney (Craughwell AC) set a PB and broke the championship record with a leap of 1.88 to take the U15 Boys high jump title in a fitting final event on day 1

National juvenile competition returns to Tullamore next weekend for a double dose of athletics action on Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th. Both days will be live streamed on the Athletics Ireland Youtube Channel

Sportsfile Photos from National Juvenile T&F Championships Day 1


Video of National Juvenile T&F Championships Day 1


Full National Juvenile T&F Championships Day 1 Results


Selected Results:


U19 100mH

1. McGlynn, Lucy Tír Chonaill A.C. 14.38

2. Adekoya, Arabella St. L. OToole A.C. 14.97

3. Nolke, Katie Ferrybank A.C. 15.06


U19 110mH

1. Nolan, Adam St. L. OToole A.C. 14.86

2. Mcconway, Noah Ennis Track A.C. 15.66          

3. McQuillan, Zane Ballymena and Antrim A.C. 15.70


U18 Boys Discus

1 Adamski, Kacper Tír Chonaill A.C. 39.47

2 Anderson, Alex Tír Chonaill A.C. 38.84

3 Scanlon, David Leevale A.C. 37.78


Girls U18 Discus

1 Kennedy, Claire Birr A.C. 36.63

2 Wright, Holly Crookstown Millview A.C. 36.34

3 Naughton, Kate Leevale A.C. 29.14


Girls U19 Shot Put

1 Ryan, Kirbyanne Tralee Harriers A.C. 10.19

2 Gallen, Adrienne Lifford Strabane A.C. 9.82

3 Giles, Aoife Cranford A.C. 9.64


Boys U19 Shot Put

1 Keating, Callum North Cork A.C. 14.49

2 McCarthy, Padraic Lios Tuathail A.C. 12.53

3 Patchell, Ciaran Blackrock (Dublin) A.C. 11.72


Girls U19 Triple Jump

1 Fitzgerald, Grace Tipperary Town A.C. 11.44

2 Mckinty, Anna Orangegrove A.C. 10.87

3 McDonagh, Caoimhe South Sligo A.C. 10.70


Girls U19 800m

1 Moore, Emma Galway City Harriers A.C. 2:13.75            

2 Hosey, Sarah Dooneen A.C.      2:14.37               

3 Mohan, Sadhbh Metro/St. Brigids A.C. 2:20.22


Girls U18 800m

1 Crotty, Renee Annalee A.C. 2:20.33               

2 Noctor, Eve Marie Lucan Harriers A.C. 2:20.73               

3 Thornton, Emmy Willowfield Harriers 2:22.38


Boys U18 800m

1 Gorham, Cian St. Peter's A.C.   1:56.94

2 Robinson, Seamus Westbury Harriers   1:57.03

3 Kelly, Jd Clonliffe Harriers A.C. 1:59.63


Boys U19 800m

1 Kelly, Oisin Cranford A.C. 1:55.03          

2 Boyle, Finn Crusaders A.C. 1:55.77       

3 McLoughlin, Rory St. Peter's A.C. 1:56.02


Girls U18 2000m Steeplecahse

1 Foot, Eleanor  Bray Runners A.C. 7:17.06           

2 Cashman, Alex Youghal A.C. 7:28.56    

3 Collins, Ella Bandon A.C. 7:35.17


Boys U19 3000m Steeplechase

1 Miney, James  Annalee A.C. 10:09.29   

2 McMahon, Jack Ballyroan Abbeyleix A.C. 10:36.62       

3 Corcoran, Finn Lusk A.C. 10:45.58


Girls U19 3000m Steeplechase

1 McNally, Cara Lusk A.C. 12:03.41


Girls U16 High Jump

1 O'Connor, Tara Dundalk St. Gerards A.C. 1.73 CR

2 Quinn, Siun Brothers Pearse A.C. 1.70

3 O Shaughnessy, Orla Dooneen A.C. 1.55


About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2022. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design