Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

National 10k Road Championship Results April 2017 - Home and Away

Gold for Parnell and Pitrowski, Silver for McCarthy

Phoenix Park, Dublin and Gravesend, Kent

  Sunday, April 9th 2017


 Carmel Parnell Photo Leevale AC s Richard Piotrowski adj Ballincollig ParkRun Photo Olga O Sullivan Claire McCarthy Charleville Half Photo Leevale AC s
 Carmel Parnell, Leevale AC, National 10k F60 Champion - Photo: Leevale AC  Richard Piotrowski, Eagle AC, British National 10k M70 Champion - Photo: Olga O'Riordan Claire McCarthy, Leevale AC, National 10k Silver Medalist - Photo: Leevale AC



Cork Athletics Homepage


Cork Athletics Facebook Page


Results of Athletics Ireland Registered Events - April 2014 - May 2016 (on Old Cork Athletics website)


Results of Athletics Ireland Registered Events - May 2016 to date


Race Calendar / Fixtures List - Athletics Ireland Registered Events


Athletics Ireland National 10k Championship Results 2017


Athletics Ireland Report - Feidhlim Kelly

Christie and O'Flaherty crowned national champions

Mark Christie (Mullingar Harriers) provided the home cheer by winning the national 10k title in 29:30 and overall victory at the Great Ireland Run in the Phoenix Park today (April 9th).

Fionnuala McCormack (Kilcoole) was a late withdrawal overnight due to a lingering injury which left England’s Gemma Steel in to take overall victory in the women’s race in 34:15.

The first 5km is always quick with a lot of downhills before they get to the hillier section and the Furry Glen in the second half of the course. And it was around the 8km point that Mark Christie opened up on the chasing duo of England’s Graham Rush and Raheny Shamrock’s Mick Clohisey.

Rush held on for second overall in 29:41 with Clohisey third in 29:44 which won him the silver medal for the national championships. Clonliffe Harriers’ Sergiu Ciobanu rounded out the national podium winning bronze in 30:20.  

Kerry O’Flaherty (Newcastle) took up the reigns for the Irish women’s team in the absence of Fionnuala McCormack and she put in a gritty performance to finish third overall while also bagging her second national 10km road title which she last won in 2009.

Leevale’s Claire McCarthy was second in the national championship race in 34:47 and looks set for the London marathon in two weeks’ time. DSD’ Laura Shaughnessy won national bronze in 35:04.

The Irish team defended the Sean Kyle Cup in the international competition against England.

Report by Lindie Naughton

Mark Christie of Mullingar Harriers and Newcastle’s Kerry O’Flaherty were the winners at the National 10k, held in Dublin’s Phoenix Park in conjunction with the Great Ireland Run.

In the men’s race, Christie was also the overall winner of the race in 29 mins 30 secs, beating British guest Graham Rush who finished in 29:41. Raheny’s Mick Clohisey was a close third and second in the National Championships in 29:44.  Sergiu Ciobanu of Clonliffe was third in the National Championships in 30:20.

The late withdrawal of Fionnuala McCormack left the way open for Olympic steeplechaser O’Flaherty to take the national title in 34 mins 38 secs – like Christie’s, an excellent time for the undulating course. Overall she finished third behind British visitors Gemma Steel in 34:15 and Jenny Spink in 34.24.

Leevale’s Clare McCarthy was fourth overall, and second in the National Championships in 34:47 while taking national 10km bronze was Laura Shaughnessy of DSD in 35:06. Winning the team title for the first time (I think) were the women of Metro St Brigid’s, led by Catherina Mullen in 7th place. Raheny won both the senior and M35 titles, with Tallaght best of the M50 teams.  First W35 team was Donore Harriers; first W50 were the defending champions from Mayo AC.

Individual Mens Results (PDF File)

Cat PosForenameSurnameCatClubGun Time
1 Mark Christie M Mullingar Harriers A.C. 00:29:30
2 Mick Clohisey M Raheny Shamrocks A.C. 00:29:44
3 Sergiu Ciobanu M Clonliffe Harriers A.C. 00:30:20
45 David Butler M St. Finbarrs A.C. 00:36:21
6 Donal O'Brien M65 St. Nicholas A.C. 00:45:41
69 Trevor O'Neill M40 St. Finbarrs A.C. 00:49:21
114 Keith Kelly M Abbey Striders A.C. 01:04:12

Individual Womens Results (PDF File)


Cork Womens Results

Cat POSForenameSurnameCatClubGun Time
1 Kerry O'Flaherty F Newcastle & District AC 00:34:38
2 Claire McCarthy F Leevale A.C. 00:34:47
3 Laura Shaughnessy F Dundrum South Dublin A.C. 00:35:04
1 Carmel Parnell F60 Leevale A.C. 00:41:32
12 Elaine O'Donoghue F35 Riverstick Kinsale A.C. 00:44:02
23 Sinead O'Regan F35 Riverstick Kinsale A.C. 00:48:49
44 Laura Barry F Youghal A.C. 00:51:19
49 Julianne Buckley F35 Watergrasshill A.C. 01:10:34
65 Yvonne Sheahan F Watergrasshill A.C. 01:13:02


Mens Team Results (PDF File)

Womens Team Results (PDF File)



Results of British National 10k Road Championships 2017

Also last Sunday, across the water, at the British Masters 10k Road Championships, in Gravesend Kent, Eagle AC's English native, Richard Pitrowski, who turned 70 in the past week or so, made the most iof his new category, winning the M70 category, in a fine time of 43:08, and a winning margin of thirty three seconds, and in 43rd place overall, from 108 finishers.  


Richard Piotrowski Fishing s

Richard Piotrowski's prowess isn't limited to running - here's Richard with 'a big one' that didn't get away

The race was held over four laps of an undulating 2.5km tarmac cycling course, in warm conditions of 26C

 Results of British Masters Open 10k Championships 2017


M70 Results

43 Richard Piotrowski M70 South West Veterans AC 00:43:08
46 Peter Giles M70 Hercules Wimbledon AC 00:43:41
66 Geoff Newton M70 Tadworth AC 00:46:10
78 Glyn Smith M70 Cambridge & Coleridge AC 00:47:11
80 Tony Rea M70 Dragons RC (Leeds) 00:47:21
83 Martyn Rouse M70 Veterans AC 00:48:47


First 20 Finishers

1 Sullivan Smith M40 Cambridge & Coleridge AC 00:32:24
2 Howard Bristow M40 Brighton & Hove City AC 00:32:40
3 Peter Tucker M35 Blackheath & Bromley Harriers AC 00:34:19
4 Dominic O'Mahoney M40 Invicta East Kent AC 00:34:24
5 Mark Vaughan M45 North Herts RRC 00:34:57
6 Ian Johnston M45 Veterans AC 00:35:04
7 David Smith M45 Wolverhampton & Bilston AC 00:35:12
8 Chris Biddle M35 Dartford Harriers AC 00:35:25
9 Craig Pearson M35 Cannock & Stafford AC 00:36:02
10 Lee Taylor M40 Southend On Sea AC 00:36:12
11 Gary Ironmonger M55 Herne Hill Harriers 00:36:36
12 Mark Cursons M55 Harrow AC 00:37:02
13 Tony Tuohy M50 Dulwich Runners AC 00:37:20
14 Nigel Haycock M45 Cannock & Stafford AC 00:37:28
15 Tom Conlon M55 Herne Hill Harriers 00:37:44
16 John Lowden M60 Brighton & Hove City AC 00:37:50
17 Mike Boyle M55 Herne Hill Harriers 00:37:59
18 Andy Howey M50 Tunbridge Wells Harriers 00:38:02
19 Matt Shields M60 North Belfast Harriers 00:38:07
20 Martin Kelk M50 Invicta East Kent AC 00:38:39

About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2019. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design