Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Bandon 10k Road Race Results - July 1986

Results of Bandon 10k Road Race 1986


Saturday July 12th 1986


Organised and hosted by Bandon AC

This event was run under an B.L.E. permit/licence

john lenihan an riocht photo des barry cork examiner1  christine kennedy galway city harriers
John Lenihan, An Ríocht AC, Winner of Bandon 10k 1986  Christine Kennedy, Galway City Harriers, Winner of Bandon 10k 1986

First 10 Men

1st 10 men bandon 10k 1986aFront L to R: ( - ), Dan O’Riordan (Chairman, Bandon AC), John Lenihan, Eamonn McEvoy, John Buckley and Eric Curtis, Personnel Manager, Telecom Alcatel (sponsors)
Back: ( - ), ( - ), Eric Crockett, Sean Harte, ( - )


First 10 Women

1st 10 women bandon 10k 1986

Front L to R: Aine Murphy, Rose Crockett, Anne Murphy, Christine Kennedy, Dan O’Riordan (Chairman, Bandon A.C.) and Eric Curtis, Personnel Manager, Telecom Alcatel (sponsors)
Back: ( - ), Marie Morley, ( - ), ( - ), Helen Geaney


Bandon 10K

The Telecom Alcatel sponsored Bandon 10K, promoted by the Bandon Athletic Club, was won in convincing fashion by John Linehan, Riocht A.C

Having taken the lead at the 3k mark, Linehan was never pressed thereafter, and had over one minute to spare at the finish over Eamon McEvoy of St. Finbarr’s. Gerry Staunton of London Irish A.C. was a good third

Christine Kennedy (G.C.H.), who finished in 15th place overall, was the first lady home, well ahead of Carmel McCarthy of Bandon

The team award was won by St. Finbarr’s from Leevale and Bandon

Two hundred and twenty-eight runners finished the race

Entry Form

bandon 10k 1986 entry form



Bandon AC Facebook Page


Bandon AC Website


Cork Athletics Homepage


Cork Athletics Facebook Page


Results of Athletics Ireland Registered Events - April 2014 - May 2016 (on Old Cork Athletics website)


Results of Athletics Ireland Registered Events - May 2016 to date


Race Calendar / Fixtures List - Athletics Ireland Registered Events


Previous Bandon AC Results


Results of Bandon 5k 2019


Results of Bandon 5 2018


Results of Bandon 5 2017


Results of Bandon 5 2016


Results of Bandon 5 2015


Results of Bandon 5 2007


Results of Bandon 10k Road Race 1986

Results courtesy of Bandon AC

First 99 finishers

1 John Linehan M Riocht A.C. 00:30:46
2 Eamonn McEvoy M St. Finbarr's 00:31:52
3 Gerry Staunton M London Irish A.C. 00:32:00
4 John Buckley M40 St. Finbarr's 00:32:09
5 Sean Harte M St. Finbarr's 00:32:25
6 Eric Crockett M St. Finbarr's 00:32:33
7 Stephen Gibbons M Leevale 00:32:50
8 Mick Lawton M Leevale 00:33:16
9 Willie Hayes M Reenavanna 00:33:24
10 Cormac O'Connor M Bandon A.C. 00:33:36
11 Tony Wilson M Leevale 00:33:45
12 C. Walsh M Doheny A.C. 00:34:10
13 Ian Harper M Bandon A.C. 00:35:22
14 P. Hosford M Bandon 00:35:41
15 Christine Kennedy F G.C.H. 00:36:00
16 Jim Curtin M40 East Cork A.C. 00:36:00
17 P. McCarthy M Rosscarbery 00:36:07
18 Alex Crowley M40 Togher A.C. 00:36:07
19 B. Foley M East Cork A.C. 00:36:17
20 M. O'Keeffe M Riocht A.C. 00:36:21
21 John O'Leary M45 Leevale 00:36:23
22 George Spicer M Douglas 00:36:25
23 P. O'Callaghan M Leevale 00:36:39
24 R. Butler M Army 00:36:41
25 Donal O'Flynn M Leevale 00:36:43
26 Tim Lucey M Bandon A.C. 00:36:46
27 Pat Lawton M Leevale 00:36:47
28 J. O'Callaghan M Leevale 00:37:00
29 A. Linehan M St. Finbarr's 00:37:05
30 John O'Connell M Carrigaline Str„ 00:37:24
31 Tony Flanagan M Leevale 00:37:32
32 R. O'Brien M Bandon A.C. 00:37:34
33 Carmel McCarthy F Bandon A.C. 00:37:38
34 B. O'Donoghue M Montenotte 00:37:41
35 S. Kennedy M Farranfore 00:37:49
36 JJ . O'Driscoll M Doheny A.C. 00:37:56
37 J. Coakley M Ballincollig 00:38:05
38 Ger Daly M Bandon A.C. 00:38:28
39 J. Daly M Bandon A.C. 00:38:38
40 Dave Murphy M50 U.C.C. 00:38:44
41 Hugh McSweeney M40 Leevale 00:38:49
42 D. McCarthy M Bandon 00:39:08
43 Anne Murphy F Leevale 00:39:11
44 John Quigley M Leevale 00:39:12
45 C. Enright M Riocht A.C. 00:39:24
46 Frank Linehan M Carrigaline Str. 00:39:35
47 J. Hurley M Telecom Alcatel 00:39:48
48 B. O'Leary M Bandon 00:39:52
49 N. O'Callaghan M Bandon 00:39:54
50 K. Drummy M Aghinagh A.C. 00:39:55
51 Rose Crockett F St Finbarr's 00:40:08
60 Carmel Lynch F U.C.C. 00:40:44
73 Helen Geaney F Leevale 00:41:35
77 Mary Joyce- Curtin F East Cork 00:42:06
79 W. McHugh F G.C.H. 00:42:15
92 Aine Murphy F U.C.C. 00:43:33
99 Marie Morley F St. Finbarr's 00:44:05

About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2019. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design