Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Results of Shanagarry 5 1978

First Shanagarry 5 Mile Road Race Results 1978


Race 2 of Ballycotton Summer Series

Thursday August 17th 1978


Ballycotton 10 Banner min

A BLE Permitted event


Organised and hosted by Ballycotton Running Promotions, in association with East Cork AC

This course was measured by John Walshe, Athletics Ireland National Grade Measurer


East Cork AC website


Cork Athletics Homepage


Cork Athletics Facebook Page


Results of Athletics Ireland Registered Events - April 2014 - May 2016 (on Old Cork Athletics website)


Results of Athletics Ireland Registered Events - May 2016 to date


Race Calendar / Fixtures List - Athletics Ireland Registered Events


Cork Athletics Race Calendar

Cork Athletics Find Your Races

Comprehensive Calendar of Registered Athletics Ireland events in Cork


Ballycotton Summer Series Historical Archive

Work in progress to include all races in series


Results of Shanagarry 5 Mile 1978 - The First Shanagarry Race

Results courtesy of Ballycotton Running Promotions

1 Noel Shannon M Leevale AC 00:24:31
2 Donie Walsh M Leevale AC 00:24:48
3 Mick Lawton M Leevale AC 00:24:57
4 Liam O'Brien M Midleton AC 00:25:36
5 Jerry Murphy M Leevale AC 00:25:47
6 Mick Murphy M Leevale AC 00:26:01
7 Dick Hodgins M Leevale AC 00:26:12
8 John Delaney M Leevale AC 00:26:27
9 Michael Healy M Youghal AC 00:26:35
10 Jack O'Leary M St Finbarr's AC 00:27:26
11 Donal Burke M St Finbarr's AC 00:27:47
12 John Walshe M Midleton AC 00:28:11
13 Der O'Riordan M Leevale AC 00:28:31
14 John O'Leary M Leevale AC 00:28:50
15 Donal O'Callaghan M St Finbarr's AC 00:28:51
16 John Murphy M Leevale AC 00:29:10
17 Eddie Murphy M Leevale AC 00:29:18
18 Denis Forde M St Finbarr's AC 00:29:21
19 Der Cronin M Leevale AC 00:29:40
20 Tony Flanagan M Leevale AC 00:29:48
21 Tim O'Donovan M Leevale AC 00:30:02
22 Peter Lee M Youghal AC 00:30:24
23 Willie O'Mahony M Youghal AC 00:31:47
24 Joe O'Flynn M Leevale AC 00:35:37
25 Tom Houlihan M Midleton AC 00:36:18
26 Seamus Hartnett M Midleton AC 00:36:31
27 Donal Donaldson M   00:44:55
28 Gerard O'Shea M   00:44:55

About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2019. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design