Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Cork Athletics County Novice and Juvenile Cross-Country Championship Results - November 1973

Gold Medal for Liam O'Brien

Cork BLE County Novice Cross-Country Championships 1973

Leamlara, Watergrasshill

Sunday November 10th 1973

cork athletics county novice xc chps 1973Cork Examiner report Monday November 11th 1973

[2020 Notes] The report throws up a few interesting snippets: The second placed Novice, Tim Goulding, ran with Olympic AC, which is now defunct, but was based in the Ballincollig area. Tim went on to run with Leevale AC. The team event was won by Midleton AC, and, consisted of Liam O'Brien, Paul Mulholland, the late Jerry Martin (who died in 2012) and Phil McGrath – who is still winning national medals in 2020!

The juvenile events also throw up some well-known names: Tony Gilbert (Blarney) won the boys U12. Kathleen Glavin (Midleton), who would go on to become Irish senior long jump champion, and Irish international, won the girls U15, ahead of Helen O’Callaghan, who later ran for East Cork. In the boys U15, second was Terry McSweeney (Grange-Fermoy) a brother of Fanahan, who followed him to McNeese State University.

Cork Examiner Report

Liam O'Brien of Midleton AC won the individual Gold Medal, in the BLE Cork County men's cross-country championship, at Leamlara, Watergrasshill, yesterday. O’Brien was pressed by T. Goulding of Olympia, and JJ Gleeson, Carraig na hhFear-Carrigtwohill for over half of the four miles journey, but he came away strongly, with half a lap to go, to cross the finishing line a worthy winner, in a time of 23 minutes 26 seconds. Midleton won the team cham¬pionship for the first time in its history, edging out Carraig na bhFear-Carrigtwohill by 6 points.


Cork County Men’s Novice Championship (4 miles) Individual: 1, L. O'Brien, Midleton AC; 2. T. Goulding. Olympic AC: 3. J. J. Gleeson. Carraig na bhFear-Carrigtwohill AC

Team: 1. Midleton AC (1 L O’Brien; 3 P. Mullholland; 5 G. Martin; 14 P. McGrath) 23 pts.: 2. Carraig na bhFear-Carrigtwohill AC. (2 JJ Gleeson;  8 J. Curtin; 9 D. Dinan; 10 W. Walsh) 29 pts; 3. UCC AC 54


Juvenile events:
Girls under-11: I. B Vaughan Blarney AC; 2. M Horgan Togher AC; 3. C Harte, Carraig na bhFear-Carrigtwohill AC

Boys under-11: 1, T. Gilbert, Blarney AC.; 2. J. Dempsey, Youghal AC; 3, K. O'Callaghan, Ballincollig AC

Girls under-13: 1. M Smiddy. Youghal AC; 2. L. Guilfoyle. Midleton AC; 3. M Mulcahy.

Boys under-13: 1, P. Sullivan. Midleton A.C.; 2. J. Callaghan. Watergrasshill AC; 3. M. Murphy. Ballincollig AC

Girls under-15: 1. K. Glavin, Midleton AC: 2. H O’Callaghan. Watergrasshill AC. 3. B. Hartnett. Midleton AC

Boys under-15: 1, G. Murphy. Togher AC: 2, T. McSweeney. Grange-Fermoy AC; 3, D. Driscoll. Bandon AC

About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2022. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design