EAST CORK AC

Liam O'Brien

The club was founded in November 1985 in an attempt to amalgamate the existing senior clubs within the East Cork division. Father Liam O'Brien was the club's first chairman and he remained in that post for a further two years. Barry Moran was club chairman in 1989 and he was followed in that post by Bryan Meade who filled the position until John Reidy assumed control in 1993.

The club has had but two secretaries - Paul Mulholland for three years from 1986 and Liam O'Brien who began his secretarial duties in 1990 and still remains in this position. The post of treasurer has, since the club's inception, been in the capable hands of Gerry Wallace.

Middle distance running, particularly on the road and crosscountry, has been the main area of success for the club. In the men's category Liam O'Brien, Donncha O'Mahony, Bryan Meade. Gerry Wallace, John Kearney, Martin Drake and Tom Owens have achieved notable successes.

The County senior cross-country Championship has escaped the club only once over the past eight years and there have been individual Championship winners through Liam O'Brien in 1989 and Donncha O'Mahony who enjoyed a hat trick of successes in 1990, 1991 and 1992. There were also county novice championship successes.

At Southern Region level the club won the cross-country title in 1987, 1988, 1990 and 1991 with the duo of Liam O'Brien and Donncha O'Mahony taking individual gold on no less than five occasions between them in this period.

At National senior level there was a bronze in 1989 and various medals for both individual and team at National intermediate standard.

Success has not been confined to the cross-country courses either as National road relay medals were secured by the club in 1988 and 1991 - gold; 1986, 1987, 1989 and 1993 - silver and a bronze in 1990.

Paul Mulholland. Frank Cashman. John Walsh. George and Freddy Walsh have been leading figures in veterans races nation wide. Here again the club enjoyed National success at inter club level in 1986 and 1988. All are prominent on the road running circuit throughout the year.

During the summer the standards have been equally maintained with the East Cork club being the National track & field 'B' Division champions in 1987. There was also gold for the trio that represented the club in the National track and field relay championships in the 5,000 metre event in 1990 and of course the successes at individual level of such as Liam O'Brien and Donncha O'Mahony over the past few years are well known among athletic enthusiasts throughout the country especially with the former's domination of the steeplechase at the National championships.

In the ladies section Eileen Prunty was the early standard bearer, later to be followed by Mary Sheehan and at the present time Angela Murphy is one of the top juniors in the country.