Cork Athletics on Vimeo
Cork Athletics on Flickr
Cork Athletics on Instagram
Cork Athletics on Facebook
Cork Athletics on Twitter

Events Calendar

Download as iCal file

European Under 20 T&F Championships 2021 - Day 1

Thursday 15 July 2021, 09:00 - 15:00

Location DistanceTypeChampionshipPermitMeasured
Tallinn, Estonia T&F/Sports Yes Yes IAAF

European Under 20 T&F Championships 2021

Tallinn, Estonia

July 15th - 18th 2021


fionn harrington st brogans bandon photo harry murphy sportsfile 1503535 maeve o neill 2a
Fionn Harrington, Bandon AC Maeve O'Neill, Doheny AC

Final Entry List - All Countries


Athletics Ireland Preview

A team of 33 athletes have arrived in Tallinn for the European U20 Championships which will take place from July 15th - 18th.

The championships have provided many great moments for Irish athletes in recent years, most notably the three medals secured by Sarah Healy (Silver), Darragh McElhinney (Bronze), and Kate O’Connor (Silver) in 2019.   

This year’s squad will touch down in Estonia buoyed by the success of the Irish U23 team which competed at the venue last weekend and took home a brilliant silver medal secured by Olympic bound David Kenny in the 20k Walk.


Full Squad Selection


Championship Programme/Timetable


Live Results



Day 1

Irish record breaker Rhasidat Adeleke (Tallaght AC) will lead the team out on day 1 of the championships in the heats of the 100m which are set for 9.10am Irish time. Adeleke is ranked number one in Europe (U20), and will look to book her place in the semi-finals set for later in the afternoon. The Tallaght AC athlete will also take to the blocks in the 200m heats on Friday.

Recently crowned national senior 100m champion, Israel Olatunde (UCD AC) will follow shortly after and again will look to navigate his way through to the evening’s semi-finals.

Doheny AC's Maeve O'Neill, who last week smashed the 800m South Munster Schools' record held by Sonia O'’Sullivan will go in the 800m heats in the afternoon session, while rising star of Irish athletics Cian McPhillips (Longford AC) will be joined in the 1500m heats by Sean Donoghue (Celtic DCH) at 2pm.

The trio of Fionn Harrington (Bandon AC), Tadhg Donnelly (Drogheda & District), and Nicholas Griggs (Mid-Ulster AC) will all have their sights on making it to Saturday’s 3000m final (Heats 3.05pm Thursday).

Conor Cusack (Lake District AC) comes into these championships ranked 6th in Europe (U20 Javelin) and will look to build on his recent string of impressive performances including a 72.13 throw which placed him 5th on the Irish all-time list.

Emily MacHugh (Naas AC) will round off the Irish in action on day 1 in the final of the Women’s 10k Walk from 5.30pm.


Thursday 15th (Irish Time)


9.10am: Women’s 100m Heats – Rhasidat Adeleke (Tallaght AC)

    9.50am: Men’s 100m Heats - Israel Olatunde (UCD AC)

    1.25pm: Women’s 800m Heats – Maeve O’Neill (Doheny AC)

    2.00pm: Men’s 1500m Heats - Cian McPhillips (Longford AC) & Sean Donoghue (Celtic DCH)

    2.25pm: Women’s 100m Semi-Final



About Us

Cork Athletics County Board is a constituent member of Athletics Ireland. Cork Athletics is the governing body, administering athletics, track and field (T&F), cross-country (XC) and running in county Cork. The Board comprises elected representatives of constituent athletic clubs and running clubs. Cork County Board AAI organises Championship races and competition, including road, track & field (T&F) and Cross-country (XC), at junior, juvenile, senior and masters levels, and selects representation for the county. In addition, training and education is provided for coaches and officials. The Board also regulates the Athletics Ireland race/event permit (licence) process for county Cork.
Copyright © Cork Athletics 2001-2022. All rights reserved.    Website by: Déise Design